To Correct Myself:

I reported that my mother had been visiting the New York World’s Fair in 1939, and was in the Czech pavilion when the Germans took the Sudetenland from Czechoslovakia.

Then, I looked at the history and saw that the Sudetenland was transferred without military action to Germany in October, 1938, after the infamous Munich conference.

I began to doubt my mother’s story (I was sure I had reported it accurately)

So, I looked further and saw that, in 1939, the Germans invaded what remained of Czechslovakia, taking control of the country and dividing it into two separate provinces, one called Bohemia and Moravia and the other called Slovakia.  This obviously occurred on the day my mother was at the Czech pavilion.  She never forgot the reactions of the Czech nationals who worked there.

Leave a Reply

