You Can Never Be Too Sure (4 cents)

It has been a long time since I owned a leather briefcase.  They are expensive.  They scuff.  They discolor.  Their stitching comes loose.

About 20 years ago, I discovered canvas, cheaper and much more durable.

Just this morning, as I was getting ready to leave for the office, I gave my old black canvas bag (with three outside pockets, and two main compartments, each of which has a division, and places for pens, etc.) a smile and a silent thanks for its indestructibility.

And then, when I picked it up, I saw it.  A snag on the side, where the canvas seems to be wearing away.

You can never be too sure.

Leave a Reply

