The Biggest Man in the World

I have a problem with Nationals’ Stadium, but seem to be the only one.  The two times (yes, only 2), I have had my sight lines interfered with by the people in the row in front of me.  First, on the upper deck, I had the plate blocked.  Then, on the lower deck just beyond third base, I had the same problem.

Last night, in fact, it was so bad that I had to move.

Now part of the reason, I thought, was that the biggest man in the world was sitting between me and home plate.   But, as the seat next to him was empty, all I had to do was lean forward and I could avoid the problem.  But then, the unexpected occurred.  It turned out, in about the third inning, that the biggest man in the world was in fact not so.  He was the second biggest man in the world, because the biggest man in the world (the record holder by far) came and sat next to him.  Now, my leaning forward was meaningless.  Basically the entire third base line was blocked.

Now I don’t know who these people are.  They, in fact, seemed like very nice people.  The (second) biggest man in the world and I got into a conversation about the version of the Star Spangled Banner sung by someone named Bryna, who didn’t seem to know the tune, and who thought it was written by someone in Nashville.  The (second) bmitw was, I would guess, about 50, and the bmitw was in his twenties (white, blond hair in corn rows, with a fair amount of face jewelry).  They could have been father and son (in which case the sbmitw must have married the biggest woman in the world).

At any rate, my new seat was OK (two rows up), but what would I have missed if I had stayed where I was?  A 2-0 defeat.  The biggest cheer from the crowd when it looked like Austin Kerns might have an RBI walk.

This team just isn’t a team.  OK, Ryan Zimmerman, Nick Johnson, Lastings Milledge, Elijah Dukes, Chad Cardero, Shawn Hill.  All injured and out long term.  And don’t forget Ronnie Belliard, Paul La Duca, Austin Kerns, Dmitri Young and any number of pitchers who may be back now, but have missed large segments of the season.

Maybe next year.  And maybe not.